Cherish Your Heritage

I am proud of the heritage that I have. Being African (and of Nigerian origin) is a thing of joy to me. Its rich culture that can be seen in the dressing, food, music, festivals/ceremonies, languages, skin colours etc is something to be preserved.

Flying the cultural flag

It is possible that studying Sociology & Anthropology made me aware of these things and has led me to appreciate them more. It is also possible that curiosity in the things around me helped me realise the depth of the beauty around me. I remember as a child I used to play dress up with my mother’s wrappers, tying them around my waist, chest and using them to attempt the traditional head gear (gele). Education did not teach me that, it was something within that fascinated me and is drawn to the beauty around.

Within the last 5 years, I have worked with young people of different ages. And it pains me when we show little regard for that which gives us our identity. As young people we are the custodians of everything African tomorrow. If we do not cherish it and pass it on, there may not be anything left to pass on tomorrow. Africa may just have been another name for some lost heritage (I hope not!).

Wherever, you are or come from, you have a heritage that you can hold on to and preserve if you chose to. But you can only hold on to it or preserve it if you value it. Whatever you have, can be applied to suit the now. If you will agree with me, there is always an aspect of yesterday that is found in today…and the cycle continues.

I created this blog (at this time) primarily because a blog is part of the requirements for participating in the Warriors Without Weapons program for 2011, but the love of my heritage is something I have always been proud of.

Join me and share some of the things you find interesting about your heritage.

About Neka

I work for a non-profit organization. I believe in the ability of young people to cause change and find joy working with them to bring about positive change in our society. I have more than 5 years experience working with non-profits. I am an alumnus of the Young Women Knowledge and Leadership Institute (YOWLI) Dakar, Senegal and was also trained under the British Council/World Bank Institute Debate to Action (DTA) Project. I have been trained as a peer educator trainer and counselor and participated in the NYSC/UNICEF adolescent reproductive health and HIV/AIDS prevention project for the training and mentoring of in-school youths on reproductive health and HIV/AIDS prevention, care and control.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cherish Your Heritage

  1. totty2011 says:

    Am impressed by your blog my sister, all the best from Kenya.x

Leave a Reply

